DePaul business faculty members celebrate their awards at this year’s Academic Convocation.  Marty Martin received the Excellence in Public Service Award; Yvette Lopez earned an Excellence in Teaching Award (along with Rich Rocco, not pictured); and Tom Donley was presented with a Spirit of DePaul Award.

Eight Driehaus College of Business faculty and staff members were recognized for their teaching, public service and dedication to DePaul University’s mission at the university’s Academic Convocation ceremony, which marked the beginning of DePaul’s 118th academic year this fall.

Associate Professor of Management Marty Martin was presented with the Excellence in Public Service Award and Economics Chair Tom Donley received a Spirit of DePaul Award for his leadership in support of DePaul’s mission.  Academic Advisor Rhonda Bartosik was honored with the Gerald Paetsch Academic Advising Award, which recognizes excellence in student advising.

Excellence in Teaching Awards went to two business faculty members: Rich Rocco, assistant professor of marketing, and Yvette Lopez, associate professor of management. Lopez also was among five faculty members from the college whose tenure and promotions were announced at the event. The four others were: Jaclyn Jensen, promoted to associate professor of management; Melissa Markley, promoted to associate professor of marketing; Robert Rubin, promoted to professor of management; and Jun Xu, promoted to associate professor of marketing.

DePaul Provost Marten denBoer, who joined the university in July, delivered the keynote address at the ceremony. “It is a noble calling that we undertake in higher education,” denBoer said. “Many students come here seeking a pathway to a job, but we give them much more than that. We have the privilege of introducing students to the intellectual life, the life of the mind, and that is a far greater gift.”

​​​Click here to see the DePaul Convocation 2015 photo gallery. ​​​​​​